CSE dept. wins divisional champion award @ACMICPC16

Monday, 5th December 2016

BRU ACM ICPC Divisional Champs

BRRU_DividedByZero receiving award from honorable finance minister at  2016 ACM ICPC Dhaka Regional 


Team BRUR_DividedByZero from the CSE Department wins Divisional Champion Award at ACM International Collegiate Programing Contest Asia, Dhaka Regional 2016 Site, the most prestigious and toughest competition in the computer science arena known as 'The Battle of the Brains' where top computer programmers try to solve 10 to 11 difficult challenges using a single workstation.

The members of the team BRUR_DividedByZero were Asir Mosaddek Sakib, Md. Shahidul Islam and Md. Abdullah Al Mamun. The team was able to solve 5 challenges during a grueling 5 hours long contest. A total number of 125 teams competed at the Onsite Contest held on Saturday, November 19, 2016. where Prof. Dr. C J Hwang, ACM-ICPC Asia Director, graced the occasion as a Special Guest. The honorable Vice-chancellor of BRUR, Professor Dr. A K M Nurun Nabi has congratulated the team for their success.

Prior to this, there was an Online Preliminary Contest. Drawn from 80 different institutes, 1,566 teams participated in the online preliminary on October 15, 2016.

The team was coached by Md. Abul Kalam Azad. "We have been working hard for a quite long time for this moment, and this was our first milestone but a significant one"- he says. "We just wanted to create a good competitive programming culture in this department and this achievement will inspire us to train ourselves harder than before."